Politics in Today's Ecuador

Ecuador’s government is characterized by the classic three branches of government: Executive, Legislative, and Judiciary. The president, vice-president, and members of Congress may serve 4-year terms. Unfortunately, a weak executive branch has kept Ecuador’s politics unstable. The country’s indigenous population has emerged as a strong constituency in the past years, and the government has failed to deliver on land reforms, social services, and lowering unemployment. The last three democratically-elected presidents have failed to finish out their terms.