Have questions? We're here.

Leeward Islands Overview

Talk with an expert
Customize any aspect of your Caribbean trip. 1.800.344.6118
Help Me Plan My Trip
Ask a Question
The Leeward Islands earned their name because they lie in the lee of the wind: the prevailing trade winds are blowing towards them from the east north east. They are situated near the meeting point of the Caribbean sea and the Atlantic Ocean. Although they are closely clustered they have had diverging histories of occupation and colonization, and some are still a part of the overseas territories of European nations.

From north to south the main islands are Anguilla, St Martin, Barbuda, St Kitts & Nevis, Antigua and Montserrat, together with smaller islands including St Barthelemy and Saba. Many Caribbean cruises combine multiple stops at these islands on one itinerary. They should not be confused with the Society Islands of French Polynesia, which are also sometimes referred to as Leeward Islands.

Want to Go?

Iconic vintage car on a street in Havana
About to go kayaking with my son

Why Travel With Adventure Life

More Reasons
Us with our Maasai guide Dennis
Tailored to You
Tell us your travel interests, dreams and desires, then let our experts tailor the perfect trip for you!
Monks conversing in a Buddist temple
Peace of Mind
You can have confidence in our experts' dedication to traveler safety, comfort, & providing a seamless trip.
A pair of friendly sea lions
Responsible Travel
We are fully committed to low impact travel that not only preserves but gives back to the amazing places we visit.
A man photographs a King Penguin at only a few feet away.
Insider Access
Our personal expertise & experience, local partners in our destinations, & access to over 150 small ships are all invaluable to designing your unique journey.

Awards and Accolades

All News